Skip to main content

Glen Rock football coach Jim Kurz honored by league

Dec 13, 2020 12:05PM ● By Special To Glen Rock News Today

Glen Rock High School football coach Jim Kurz has been named Coach of the Year in the North Jersey Interscholastic Conference’s Liberty Division for 2020, and seven members of the team were selected as first-team performers on the division’s year-end all-star team.

Senior quarterback Ty Scherer, junior running back Andrew Sara, senior receiver Tommy Callahan, senior lineman Angelo Piazza and junior lineman Nolan Clark were named to the first-team offense, and senior lineman Ryan Burstiner and junior linebacker Mike McCarthy were named first-teamers on defense.

Glen Rock played the maximum eight games in a season that was discombobulated by the COVID-19 pandemic. There were no state playoffs, and teams were limited to six regular-season games, plus two additional, opt-in games that served as a postseason. The Panthers finished 6-2, the six wins being their most since 2015.

 Kurz, who took over as coach in 2009 from Al Deaett, has a record of 69-48-1. He had to navigate a season filled with uncertainty that began with scaled back, socially distanced summer practices, and went forward with the threat of the season being called off at any moment because of the coronavirus. Many schools were forced to cancel games during the season, and the Panthers’ game against Saddle Brook was canceled twice. Kurz and athletic director Frank Violante worked hard to get substitute opponents to replace both games, though, and the Panthers traveled once to Union County to play a non-league game against New Providence. 

Glen Rock earned a share of the Liberty division title, finishing in a three-way tie with Hawthorne and Pompton Lakes. Pompton Lakes won the tiebreaker and played in the semifinal for the league championship, losing to Waldwick-Midland Park.

In addition to their first-team selections, the Panthers had several players earn second-team honors. Senior lineman Ed Males, senior kicker Nico Hernandez-Torre, sophomore receiver Luke Famularo and sophomore tight end Aiden Burkhardt were all named to the offensive second team, while senior lineman Mark Tuttle, sophomore linebacker Owen Litvany and sophomore defensive back Hayden Yuzon were placed on the second-team defense. Senior receiver/defensive back Danny Crawford was named Honorable Mention.

Upcoming Events Near You


* indicates required